Page 8 Poems: Time/Steps by Charlotte Vale Allen – Not About Money

       Not About The Money        

Would he take the chance to

be a part of her life?

Would he close the door in her

face?

Had he already made up his mind?

Could he be persuaded

to open his heart?

She had only written the letter

to say “Do not forget me”.

This was not about the

money and it never would

be.

Once she was there on the doorstep

she was sure he would understand.

Then the penny she had been holding

for good luck would take her

right to the place she belonged.

She was there for his love.

After all she was his daughter.

About charlottesrow

I am a aspiring writer who has taken my time getting to the plate. I have been a Jill-of-all trades. I had a career as a Nanny for many years and decided that I needed a change. I have a "day-job" that is currently supporting me to pursue after all these years the things I really want to do with my life. I love writing, reading, and learning new things! I will have to sort out the jumble that is my creative projects that have collected cobwebs, the time has finally come!
This entry was posted in creative writing, Creativity, Curiosity, Discovery, dreams, finding your own voice, Inspiration, Learning, Page 8 Poems, Poetry, Poets, Self Expression, Stories, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

