A New Source of Inspiration…

As I let you know in my last blog, I took part in some of the daily prompts for Poetry Month in April on Poetry Super Highway’s  Facebook page and I have to say my favorite one was the following:

Find the nearest book (of any kind). Turn to page 8. Use the first ten full words on the page in a poem. You may use them in any order, anywhere in the poem.

Submitted by Maggie Westland from Thousand Oaks, California.

Thanks to Maggie I have been inspired to begin a new project.  What I am going to do is take the books that I own and the ones I get out of the library, turn to page 8 and do this exercise.  Thanks Maggie and I can’t wait to begin….

A poem based on the first  the first ten words on page eight of The Outlander  by Gil Adamson  who is an amazing Canadian author by the way

                                                           The War Widow

Headed down to the market

to sell all her goods

the widow tensed up

as she moved through the

empty and war torn streets

it was not going to be easy

this she knew.

Her cart full of valuable trinkets

that would provide her with food.

She had an uneasy feeling

come over her and she

stopped in the track made

by a tank that looked new.

Dropping to her knees

she offered a prayer to

be saved.

When the tank didn’t move

she got up , walked away,

down to the market for

the widow

would live another day.

by Andrea Taylor – May 2013

About charlottesrow

I am a aspiring writer who has taken my time getting to the plate. I have been a Jill-of-all trades. I had a career as a Nanny for many years and decided that I needed a change. I have a "day-job" that is currently supporting me to pursue after all these years the things I really want to do with my life. I love writing, reading, and learning new things! I will have to sort out the jumble that is my creative projects that have collected cobwebs, the time has finally come!
This entry was posted in A Series of Experimental Poetry, creative writing, Creativity, Curiosity, Discovery, Experimental Writing, finding your own voice, Inspiration, Learning, Poetry, Poets, Self Expression, Stories, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

