An Experiment…

To say that one is a poet is a very bold statement!  I have to say that looking over the verses that I have written in the past that I have a great deal to learn.  The things I have been reading about poetry have led me to want to write about questions that I have always wanted an answer for.  My first question is : “What constitutes a poem?”  I believe there is more than one answer to this question.  I have read a great deal of poetry and honestly there are many ways to write a poem.  There are poets who I love and there are poets who just don’t speak to me.  You know it does not even have to be about an experience that I’ve had for me to like a poet’s work, it just has to spark something in my imagination.  I really want to become a better poet!    I am already a poet at least in my understanding of what a poet is.  Definition number one according to The Oxford Desk Dictionary and Thesaurus is : writer of poems : 2.  person possessing high powers of imagination or expression, etc.

An experiment is going to happen on these pages.  I am going to write poetry, I am going to write about poetry and somewhere along the line I am going to become a better poet.  Self -expression  like exercise needs to be done on a regular basis in order to have the desired outcome.  The things that I want to write about require some technical understanding of subject matter, so please be patient while I find my way through all of the muck and mire.

I am always interested in learning and this is what I am doing through this process.  I appreciate any input that anyone who is reading this may be able to give me.  I am off to research scientific report writing in order to make it translate to a series of poems I want to write.  I’ll keep you posted on how that’s going.  Also I have been reading The Complete Poems of Emily Dickinson for inspiration.

About charlottesrow

I am a aspiring writer who has taken my time getting to the plate. I have been a Jill-of-all trades. I had a career as a Nanny for many years and decided that I needed a change. I have a "day-job" that is currently supporting me to pursue after all these years the things I really want to do with my life. I love writing, reading, and learning new things! I will have to sort out the jumble that is my creative projects that have collected cobwebs, the time has finally come!
This entry was posted in Learning, Poetry, Self Expression, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

